Predawn Song

A bird that sings an hour before the dawn
when darkness still envelops everything,
assures me that the woes I dwell upon
will pass like night. I love to hear him sing.
The lengthy silence of the night is broken
by lovely singing I am thrilled to hear,
and I don’t even mind to be awoken
before days breaks as sunbeams first appear.
It dawns on me that singing in the dark
is something like what I have tried to do:
to herald light’s arrival, like a spark,
in darkness that precedes a sky of blue.
A bird that sings outside before day breaks
inspires my own song with one he makes.

DSC_0080b

 

Mario A. Pita

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

