Menagerie

Some days I feel that all I need is You
for being full of happiness, fulfilled,
delighting that I have the chance to do
as You for my brief time on Earth have willed.
But other days I hunger and I thirst
for earthly things, and in me there are fights,
so that I feel I am about to burst,
devoured by my worldly appetites.
O, Love, I have a large menagerie
within my mind – a veritable zoo,
the human and the beastly parts of me
all mixed up in a soul that cries to You.
Help me live, though I am partly beast,
more for You every day, with love increased.

Untitled

Mario A. Pita

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

