Condensed Songs

1
You couldn’t care less for drunkenness from booze:
you’re tipsy from fresh air – intoxicant you choose.
Untitled

2
The kisses that return as ghosts aren’t wanted:
much more than any house, a heart is haunted.
Untitled

3
You needn’t live in fear of being shattered:
like seeds from pods, everyone is scattered.
Untitled

4
You’re sad your conscience isn’t pure. At least
you have a conscience since you aren’t a beast.
Untitled

5
When I was lost, the forest didn’t find me,
but if I forget the way, it could remind me.
DSC_0393

6
A century passed away. Its corpse looked bleak,
but you felt hope in songs from a thrush’s beak.
Untitled

7
Like a beautiful melody, a picture poser
reminds me the cosmos has a composer.
Untitled

Inspired by 1) Emily Dickinson, I taste a liquor never brewed 2) Carl Sandburg, Kisses, Can You Come Back Like Ghosts? 3) Richard Wilbur, Two Voices In A Meadow 4) Wislawa Szymborska, In Praise of Feeling Bad About Yourself  5) David Wagoner, Lost 6) Thomas Hardy, The Darkling Thrush 7) W.H. Auden, The Composer

Mario A. Pita

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Condensed Songs

  1. Olivia Byard says:

    I tried to
    Leave a very
    Positive reply — loved the post and this wretched system tried to force me to put in details of an old WordPress account I had. Sorry I refuse and it’s defunct anyway! Great post , pity about the site’s pushy behaviour .

Leave a Reply

